Six more schools in quarterfinals of National Energy Quiz

The next stage of the Nana Sir Ofori-Atta I National Energy Quiz 2019 following their victory in the first contest of the Kibi zone on Wednesday.

In the second contest of the day, Saviour SHS emerged victorious in the penultimate contest of the preliminary contest over WBM Zion SHS, New Nsutam SHTS and Akim Asafo SHTS.

The two contests on the day were keenly contested but in the end, it was Osino SHTS and Saviour SHS who both garnered 20 points in their respective competitions to snatch the sole tickets to the quarterfinals.

Ofori Panyin SHS, Begoro Presec and Suhum Presby SHS polled 10, 9 and 3 points respectively to bow out to Osino SHTS with WBM Zion SHS, New Nsutam SHTS and Akim Asafo SHTS polling 9, 10 and 6 points respectively to lose out to Saviour SHS.

Earlier, Oda SHS and St. Francis SHSTS also progressed to the quarterfinal of the ongoing National Energy Quiz after epic victories over some formidable opponents in the Oda zone.

With these victories, the Oda-based school and St. Francis SHTS have kept alive their hopes of winning the 2nd edition of the competition.

Oda SHS and St. Francis SHTS displayed a consistent performance of accuracy with 18 and 15 points respectively at the end of the contest to kick-out their colleagues from Akroso SHTS who secured 3 points, Akim Swedru SHS with 14 points, Attafuah SHTS with 10 points, Ayirebi SHS with 7 points and Akokoaso SHTS with 8 points at the end of three rounds of competition.

From the Kwahu zone, Nkawkaw SHS and Bepong SHS have equally booked their tickets for the quarter-finals. With 49 and 40 points respectively, the two have recorded the highest scores in the competition so far and have thus sent a strong signal to other contenders as they appear all prepared to make their mark.

The two qualified schools say they are ready to progress in the National Energy Quiz all the way to the final.

They, however, have to go past many formidable opponents if their wishes are anything to go by as the stakes remain high in this contest.

In an interview, the victorious contestants expressed satisfaction with the results and promised to perform better in subsequent contests as they hopes of making it to the finals, while contestants of the losing schools were disappointed in the outcome of the contest, but promised to prepare adequately for next year.

14 Schools have thus booked their places in the quarterfinals pending the ultimate preliminary contest. These are St. Peters SHS, Nkwatia Presby SHS, Osino SHTS, Saviour SHS, Oda SHS, St. Francis SHTS, Nkawkaw SHS, Bepong SHS, Larteh SHS, Aburi SHTS, Adeiso Presby, Asamankese SHS, Yilo Krobo SHS and Anum Presby SHS.

With six out of seven zones covered so far, the preliminary stage wraps up with the final preliminary contest – the Juaben zone with a mouthwatering contest involving Pope John SHS, Koforidua SHTS, Ghanass, Oti Boating and Koforidua Technical.

The NEQ which is designed to empower Senior High and Technical Schools with knowledge in the entire energy value chain including petroleum upstream and downstream, power generation, transmission and distribution, focuses on Power, Petroleum and Culture.

It equally aims at educating the youth in both Senior High Schools (SHS) and Technical and Vocational Education and Training (TVET) on the energy sector.

The NEQ is sponsored by the Ghana Oil Company Limited, Ghana Grid Company Limited, The Energy Commission, Ghana Maritime Authority, Ghana National Gas Company Limited and the Petroleum Commission.

The annual competition which is run under the auspices of Nananom of the Eastern Regional House of Chiefs, is jointly organized by Eastern Star Awards Co. Limited in partnership with the Conference of Heads of Assisted Secondary Schools (CHASS) and coordinated in collaboration with the Ghana Education Service and the Ministry of Energy.

The contest is underway!

Source: Ghanaweb

You may also like...